Topic: Scaling Across Multiple Dimensions

 

 

Information on the current situation

Of course, due to the current crisis we are asking ourselves the same questions about future events as you are. But we are confident that the Software QA Day in November can take place as planned.

Therefore, take the chance to place yourself and your company in the best possible position. A presentation at the Software QA Day will give you many opportunities to win new customers and partners. We are looking forward to your paper!

Should there be any changes, you will be informed on the website and also via the imbus AG newsletter. Register here for the newsletter to make sure you never miss any more news: https://www.imbus.de/newsletter

Extension Call for Papers

Participate now and submit your paper for the Software-QS-Tag on November 25/26, 2020 in Frankfurt a.M.!

There are two more big plus points that speak in favor of submitting a paper to the leading conference on software quality assurance and testing right now:

1. the deadline for paper submissions has been extended to June 01, 2020

2. from now on, the Software-QS-Tag team offers every submitter the opportunity to participate in the conference remotely as a speaker or tutorial leader.

Subject: Scaling Across Multiple Dimensions

Test and quality assurance of software in XXS to XXL

The Software-QA-Day is the largest and leading conference in Germany for software quality and testing. Two keynotes, about 60 contributions (keynote, lectures, tutorials and research papers) in five parallel tracks, as well as an accompanying exhibition present strategies, techniques, tools and best practices for the efficient testing of software and systems in projects of different sizes and different fields.

The main theme for 2020 is "Scaling across multiple dimensions":

With the universal spread of software in all areas of life the requirements as to the flexibility and scalability in all disciplines of software development are on the rise. Software is used in tiny embedded devices as well as in gigantic data centers. Some systems are developed in extremely short periods of time, while some are developed, adjusted and utilized over decades. There is software for extremely wide ranges of users and software for very specific purposes with only a few users. Development teams can be comprised of thousands of people or just one. In many dimensions this puts extreme requirements on the organization, the technology and the management of quality control and software tests. During the Software-QS-Day we would like to discuss these extremes, learn from each other and develop ideas.

Invitation to submit conference papers and tutorials

We are looking forward to field reports, tutorials, workshops and practical, current research results from software QA and testing in fields of application such as:

Business applications, E-Commerce, Web-Services, Microservices, Mobile Services and Applications, Digital Media, Cloud-Computing, InternetofThings, Embedded Systems, Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning, Robotics/Autonomous Systems, Safety Critical Systems (Medical Devices/Healthcare, Automotive, Rail, Aerospace ).

The contributions will be presented on two conference days in five parallel tracks. Leading video conferencing and e-learning applications are available for digital presentations. Your article must be related to one of the following track topics.  For example, by entering into one or more of the following questions:

  • Management & Organization

    How do you successfully implement standardized development and test processes in very small and in very large projects? Where do principles such as agile, lean and DevOps work particularly well? Do scaling frameworks such as SAFe or Nexus™ help? How are collaboration, communication and knowledge management organized when there are many participants in development and testing? Is it also possible to work professionally as the only tester on a team? How do you manage very short and very long project durations in test management? Which key figures and indicators are appropriate for small projects and which for large projects? How can this be used to assess the quality of the software during the test and predict its productive use?

  • Requirements, Early and Late Testing

    How is extremely early testing (Shift Left) successfully implemented, which requirements are best tested (very) late (Shift Right)? How does a tester deal with large quantities of requirements or with very fast changes? How is testability and traceability ensured? Which methods, notations (Epics, User Stories, etc.) and tools are used here? How do you proceed when only very few or no requirements at all are known? How to formulate requirements for AI systems? How are non-functional requirements (modularity, reusability, analyzability, test interfaces etc.) formulated and tested in tiny IoT devices and in large web systems? What is necessary to maintain the quality of very old systems when it comes to current changes? How do Requirements Engineering and Testdesign work in very short development periods?

  • Test Methods & Test Data
    Which methods, technologies and tools for the design and/or generation of many tests and large amounts of test data are used (e.g. combinatorial testing, model-based testing (MBT), fuzzing, search-based testing, AI/machine learning)? Which methods are used for QS and testing new technologies (including in large cloud systems, “deeply embedded” IoT devices, AI/ML applications and large blockchain applications)? What can you learn from large quantities of errors and use to optimize the development and test process? How do you find the right errors? What can you do if you find hardly any errors or none at all – does this mean your software is really “good”?
     
  • Test Automation & DevOp
    How do continuous testing and continuous delivery work with extremely short release cycles? Which techniques and tools for test automation are used? How do you find the “correct” automated test case for the next test cycle, when you have an extremely large number to choose from? How do you build reliable automated tests for large numbers of test cases, for tests that will run for an extremely long time or for very fast real-time systems? What do load tests and security tests for systems with millions of users look like? Which errors only occur after systems have been running for a long time (or are being tested over a long period of time) – does software have an “aging process”?
     
  • Special Topics: Domain-, technology-& Social-Skills
    How does a tester deal successfully with the large amount of and the rapid changes in expert knowledge that need to be mastered in order to test complex systems (in particular cloud, blockchain, IoT, AI/ML technologies)? How do you deal successfully with the rapid changes in the occupational profile of a tester? How do you master the technological complexity of systems that are comprised of hundred of Microservises or millions of IoT devices? How do you assume responsibility for the quality of software which influences the lives of millions of people? How do you test prospective technologies such as nano computers, quantum computers and “strong” AI systems?

Contributions can be submitted in the following formats:

  • Keynote (60 min): The keynote at the opening of the conference presents aspects, theses and range of the main topic "Scaling Across Multiple Dimensions" and thus sets the motivating prelude and framework for the following conference presentations.
     
  • Field report (45 min): Your field report shows which changes (evolutionary or disruptive) have to be mastered in your company or project in order to be successful in development, test or IT operations. It describes where and how QA and testing are affected and explain which new or changed procedures, methods, techniques and tools have been used. It discusses which results were/are achieved and how, from today's perspective, the benefits achieved in comparison to the previous situation are assessed (e.g. risk reduction, quality gain, time gain, cost savings, error avoidance, standardization of procedures, etc.).
  • Tutorial (90 min): Your tutorial introduces a certain method (e.g. Test-Driven-Development) in detail or deepens a special aspect of the conference topic (e.g. test cloud-based applications, test of AI/ML algorithms). The participant learns the method from the theoretical basics to the application of the technology in practice.
     
  • Solution workshop (45 min): You want to present your tools, products or services in the field of software quality and software testing? As an exhibitor, you have the opportunity to present your solution to a qualified target group in a meaningful way within the framework of a solution workshop you have designed.

Target group

  • SW/HW development managers, IT managers and team leaders benefit from a wide range of examples of how procedures and processes can be further improved.
  • Test managers, test leaders, project managers, product owners and Scrum Masters learn how to design and implement current projects more efficiently.
  • Test designers, test automators, testers and developers get to know techniques and tools that help in daily practice.

Timetable and schedule

Filling

Please submit your contribution with your contact details by 01. June 2020 at the latest via web form on the conference website. The respective guidelines are to be found on our conference website www.qs-tag.de/en/. The respective Speaker Conditions and Speaker Guidelines are to be found here.

Program committee

The selection of the contributions will be done by an independent program committee. Notification of acceptance of your contribution will be sent (according to current planning) by 30.06.2020.

Best Paper/Best Presentation Award

The best contributions will be presented with awards at the Software-QA-Day:

  • The “Best Paper” Award will go to the best full paper submitted in addition to the abstract. Decisive here is the assumption of the submission of the paper as a talk or tutorial for the conference as well as the quality, novelty and depth of the paper’s content. The scope of the full paper must comprise at least 5 A4 pages. The awarded Best Papers of recent years can be found here as examples.
  • In addition, the „Best Presentation“ Award will be given for the first time ever in 2020. The basis for the granting of the award will be the feedback of the conference participants regarding the quality and meaningfulness of the presentation documents and the speaker’s talk.

The award-winning Best Papers of recent years can be found as examples here: www.qs-tag.de/en/event-information/best-paper-award/

Exhibition

The exhibition area is limited! Secure your preferred place with an early registration. Please contact us per email to qs-tags.her@xya.def@s.her@xya.defimbuss.her@xya.def.s.her@xya.defde.

Event

The conference will take place from 25. & 26. November 2020 at the Steigenberger Airport Hotel, Frankfurt/Main.

Thema: Scaling Across Multiple Dimensions


 

Thema: Scaling Across Multiple Dimensions

Test und Qualitätssicherung von Software in XXS bis XXL

Der Software-QS-Tag ist die größte und führende Konferenz in Deutschland zum Thema Softwarequalität und Testen. Zwei Keynotes, rund 60 Beiträge (Fachvorträge, Tutorials und Forschungsbeiträge) in fünf parallelen Tracks, sowie eine begleitende Fachausstellung präsentieren Strategien, Techniken, Tools und Best Practices für das effiziente Prüfen und Testen von Software und Systemen in Projekten unterschiedlichster Größen und Branchen.

Das Schwerpunktthema 2020 lautet „Scaling across multiple dimensions“:

Mit der universellen Verbreitung von Software in alle Bereiche des Lebens steigen die Anforderungen an die Flexibilität und die Skalierbarkeit in allen Disziplinen der Softwareentwicklung. Software wird in kleinsten Embedded Devices ebenso eingesetzt wie in gigantischen Data Centers. Manche Systeme werden in extrem kurzen Zeiträumen, manche über Jahrzehnte hinweg entwickelt, angepasst und betrieben. Es gibt Software für breite Anwenderkreise und solche für sehr spezielle Einsatzzwecke mit wenigen Nutzern. Entwicklungsteams können Tausende von Personen umfassen oder nur aus einer einzigen bestehen. Dies stellt in vielen Dimensionen extreme Anforderungen an die Organisation, die Technologie und das Management der Qualitätssicherung und des Tests der Software. Über diese Extreme und die praktischen Möglichkeiten dazwischen wollen wir uns beim Software-QS-Tag austauschen, voneinander lernen und Ideen entwickeln.

Einladung zur Einreichung von Konferenzbeiträgen und Tutorials

Wir freuen uns auf Erfahrungsberichte, Tutorials und praxisrelevante, aktuelle Forschungsresultate zu QS und Test von softwareintensiven Anwendungen wie: Betriebliche Anwendungen, E-Commerce, Web-Services, Microservices, Mobile Services and Applications, Digital Media, Cloud-Computing, Internet-of-Things, Embedded Systems, Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning, Robotics/Autonomous Systems, Safety Critical Systems (Medical Devices/Healthcare, Automotive, Rail, Aerospace u.a.).

Die Beiträge werden an zwei Konferenztagen in fünf parallelen Tracks präsentiert. Ihr Beitrag muss sich mindestens einem der folgenden Track-Themen zuordnen lassen, indem er beispielsweise eine oder mehrere der folgenden Fragestellungen behandelt:

  • Management & Organisation
    Wie setzt man standardisierte Entwicklungs- und Testprozesse erfolgreich in sehr kleinen und in sehr großen Projekten ein? Wo funktionieren Prinzipien wie Agile, Lean und DevOps besonders gut? Helfen Frameworks zur Skalierung wie SAFe oder Nexus™? Wie werden Zusammenarbeit, Kommunikation und Wissensmanagement bei sehr vielen Beteiligten in Entwicklung und Test gestaltet? Kann man auch als einzelner Tester im Team professionell arbeiten? Wie geht man mit sehr kurzen und mit sehr langen Projektlaufzeiten beim Testmanagement um? Welche Kennzahlen und Indikatoren sind für kleine, welche für große Projekte geeignet? Wie kann man damit die Qualität der Software während des Tests beurteilen und für den Produktiveinsatz prognostizieren?
  • Requirements, Early and Late Testing
    Wie setzt man extrem frühes Testen (Shift Left) erfolgreich ein, welche Anforderungen testet man besser (sehr) spät (Shift Right)? Wie geht man als Tester mit großen Anforderungsmengen oder mit sehr schnellen Änderungen um? Wie werden dabei Testbarkeit und Traceability sichergestellt? Welche Methoden, Notationen (Epics, User Stories o.a.) und Tools werden verwendet? Wie geht man vor, wenn sehr wenige oder gar keine Anforderungen bekannt sind? Wie formuliert man Anforderungen an KI-Systeme? Wie werden nicht-funktionale Anforderungen (Modularität, Wiederverwendbarkeit, Analysierbarkeit, Testschnittstellen etc.) bei winzigen IoT-Geräten und bei großen Web-Systemen formuliert und getestet? Was ist erforderlich, um die Qualität von sehr alten Systemen bei aktuellen Änderungen zu erhalten? Wie funktionieren Requirements Engineering und Testdesign bei sehr kurzen Entwicklungszeiträumen?
  • Test Methods & Test Data
    Welche Methoden, Techniken und Tools zum Entwurf und/oder der Generierung von vielen Tests und großen Testdatenmengen werden eingesetzt (z.B. Combinatorial Testing, Model-Based Testing (MBT), Fuzzing, Search-Based Testing, AI / Machine Learning)? Welche Methoden werden genutzt für QS und Test neuer Technologien (u.a. bei großen Cloud-Systemen, „deeply embedded“ IoT Geräten, KI/ML-Anwendungen oder großer Blockchain-Anwendungen)? Was kann man aus großen Fehlermengen lernen und für die Optimierung des Entwicklungs- und Testprozesses nutzen? Wie findet man die richtigen Fehler? Was kann man tun, wenn man wenige oder gar keine Fehler findet – ist die Software dann wirklich „gut“?
  • Test Automation & DevOps
    Wie funktionieren Continuous Testing und Continuous Delivery bei extrem kurzen Releasezyklen? Welche Techniken und Tools zur Testautomatisierung werden dafür eingesetzt? Wie findet man bei sehr großen Mengen automatisierter Testfälle die „richtigen“ für den nächsten Testzyklus? Wie baut man zuverlässige Testautomatisierungen für sehr viele Testfälle, für extrem langlaufende Tests oder für sehr schnelle Echtzeitsysteme? Wie sehen Lasttests und Security Tests für Systeme mit Millionen von Anwendern aus? Welche Fehler treten erst dann auf, wenn Systeme sehr lange laufen (oder sehr lange getestet werden) – gibt es einen „Alterungsprozess“ bei Software?
  • Special Topics: Domains-, Technology-& Social-Skills
    Wie geht man als Tester erfolgreich mit den großen Mengen und den schnellen Änderungen von Fachwissen um, das man für den Test komplexer Systeme (insbes. Cloud-, Blockchain-, IoT-, KI/ML-Technologie) beherrschen muss? Wie geht man erfolgreich mit dem schnellen Wandel im Berufsbild des Testers um? Wie beherrscht man die technologische Komplexität von Systemen, die aus Hunderten von Microservices oder gar Milliarden von IoT-Geräten bestehen? Wie trägt man Verantwortung für die Qualität von Software, die das Leben von Millionen von Menschen beeinflusst? Wie testet man künftige Technologien wie Nanocomputer, Quantencomputer und „starke“ KI-Systeme?

Beiträge können in folgenden Formaten eingereicht werden:

  • Keynote (60min):  Die Keynote zur Konferenzeröffnung präsentiert Aspekte,  Thesen und Bandbreite des Schwerpunktthemas „Scaling across multiple dimensions“ und setzt so den motivierenden Auftakt und Rahmen für die folgenden Konferenzvorträge.
  • Erfahrungsbericht (45min): Ihr Erfahrungsbericht zeigt auf, welche Veränderungen (ob evolutionär oder disruptiv) in Ihrem Unternehmen oder Projekt zu bewältigen sind/waren, um in Development, Test oder IT-Betrieb erfolgreich zu sein. Sie stellen dar, wo und wie QS und Test betroffen sind, und erklären, welche neuen oder veränderten Vorgehen, Methoden, Techniken und Tools eingesetzt wurden/werden. Sie diskutieren, welche Resultate erzielt wurden/werden und wie aus heutiger Sicht der Nutzen bewertet wird, der im Vergleich zur vorherigen Situation erzielt wird (z.B. Risikominderung, Qualitätsgewinn, Zeitgewinn, Aufwandseinsparung, Fehlervermeidung, Vereinheitlichung im Vorgehen, etc.).
  • Tutorial (90min): Ihr Tutorial stellt eine bestimmte Methode (z.B. Test-Driven-Development) ausführlich vor oder vertieft einen speziellen Aspekt des Konferenzthemas (z.B. Test Cloud-basierter Anwendungen, Test von KI/ML-Algorithmen). Der Teilnehmer lernt die Methode von den theoretischen Grundlagen bis zur Anwendung der Technik in der Praxis kennen.
  • Solution-Workshop (45min): Sie möchten Ihre Tools, Produkte oder Dienstleistungen im Umfeld Softwarequalität und Softwaretest präsentieren? Als Aussteller haben Sie die Möglichkeit, Ihre Lösung im Rahmen eines von Ihnen gestalteten Solution-Workshops einer qualifizierten Zielgruppe aussagekräftig darzustellen.

Zielgruppen

  • SW/HW-Development-Leiter, IT-Leiter, Teamleiter profitieren von vielfältigen Beispielen, wie sich Vorgehensweisen und Prozesse weiter verbessern lassen.
  • Testmanager, Testleiter, Projektleiter, Product Owner und Scrum Master erfahren, wie sie aktuelle Projekte effizienter gestalten und umsetzen können.
  • Testdesigner, Testautomatisierer, Tester und Entwickler lernen Techniken und Tools kennen, die in der täglichen Praxis helfen.

    Zeitplan und Ablauf

    Einreichung

    Bitte reichen Sie Ihren Beitrag mit Ihren Kontaktdaten bis spätestens 30.04.2020 über folgendes Web-Formular ein: Einreichungsformular. Die zugehörigen Referentenbedingungen und Referentenhinweise finden Sie auf der Konferenz-Website: www.qs-tag.de.

    Programmkomitee

    Die Auswahl der Beiträge erfolgt durch ein unabhängiges Programmkomitee. Die Benachrichtigung über die Annahme Ihres Beitrags erfolgt (nach aktueller Planung) bis 30.06.2020.

    Best Paper und Best presentation Awards

    Die besten Beiträge des Software-QS-Tags 2020 werden ausgezeichnet.

    • Mit dem „Best Paper“ Award wird das beste zusätzlich zum Abstract eingereichte Full-Paper prämiert. Entscheidend sind hierfür die Annahme der Einreichung als Vortrag oder Tutorial für die Konferenz sowie die inhaltliche Qualität, Neuigkeit und Tiefe des Papers. Der Umfang des eingereichten Full-Paper muss mindestens 5 Seiten A4 betragen. Die prämierten Best Paper der letzten Jahre finden Sie hier als Beispiele.
    • Erstmals wird 2020 außerdem der „Best Presentation“ Award vergeben. Grundlage für die Prämierung ist das Feedback der Konferenz-Teilnehmer zur Qualität und Aussagekraft von Präsentationsunterlagen und Vortrag des Referenten.

    Ausstellung

    Die Ausstellungsfläche ist begrenzt! Sichern Sie sich Ihren Wunschplatz durch eine frühzeitige Anmeldung. Setzen Sie sich bitte per E-Mail an qs-tags.her@xya.def@s.her@xya.defimbuss.her@xya.def.s.her@xya.defde mit uns in Verbindung.

    Veranstaltung

    Die Konferenz findet vom 25.- 26.November 2020 im Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt/Main statt.